fields at Nordegg and east to Macklin, Sask. Calgary and Lethbridge and the towns of Ponoka, Macleod and Cardston are supplied upon a wholesale basis and own their own distribution systems. All other points upon the system are supplied on a retail basis.

The Company has 3,799 miles of transmission lines and 431 miles of pole lines.

An extensive farm electrification program is in progress and at Dec. 31, 1947, the Company was supplying approximately 2,666 farms.

The Company's transmission systems are designed with a view to future expansion.

(2) Canadian Utilities Limited.—Towns and villages northeast of Drumheller are supplied from a 13,500 kw. steam plant in that city by Canadian Utilities Limited, while towns and villages north and east of Vegreville are served from a new gas-fired steam plant being built in Vermilion. There are also diesel stand-by plants at Lloydminster and a tie line with the first utility near Holden.

This utility also serves the areas around Grande Prairie from a diesel engine plant located in that centre. Service to the rural areas is gradually being expanded and up to the present time 550 customers are being served.

(3) Northland Utilities Limited.—This Company, with headquarters in Edmonton, supplies electric energy to 3,800 consumers in 15 towns and villages in northern Alberta. Diesel generating plants are located in Jasper, Mayerthorpe, Athabasca, High Prairie, McLennan, Peace River, Fairview and Chauvin. Low-voltage transmission lines extending from the generating stations supply electricity to 56 farms and to 7 villages. The Company's program for 1948 calls for extension of its service to supply 5 other villages. Farm service will also be extended to a large number of farms in the Peace River District of Alberta.

This Company also serves the communities of Dawson Creek, Pouce Coupe and Rolla in the Peace River block of British Columbia, which is tributary to Alberta areas although not located in the Province.

Other Privately Owned Utilities.—Edmonton generates power from coal and operates its own distribution system; in addition, there is a reciprocal arrangement with one of the privately-owned utilities for exchange of power at peak periods. Calgary, Red Deer, Lethbridge, Macleod, Cardston and Ponoka own their distributing systems but purchase power from the same private source as Edmonton. Medicine Hat owns its own power plant and distribution system and furnishes power to the adjacent town of Redcliff.

Villages and hamlets beyond the reach of the large utility companies are served by small privately-owned power plants.

British Columbia.—The British Columbia Power Commission was appointed Apr. 17, 1945, under the provisions of the Electric Power Act, "to provide for improving the availability and supply of electric power". In addition to acquiring the electrical systems of the West Canadian Hydro Electric Corporation, the Nanaimo-Duncan Utilities Limited, the Columbia Power Company Limited, the National Utilities Limited and the Kamloops properties of the British Columbia Electric Railway Company Limited, the Commission also purchased several smaller privatelyowned utilities and municipal plants throughout the Province, and pending development of its own source of power, purchased electric energy for distribution at several points on Vancouver Island.

513